Active Committees

MEC supports student representation on a number of Faculty of Medicine committees:

See our complete list here (PDF format) or below!

Medical Education Committee 

MEC Director Sr. Katrina Besler  VFMP  kbesler@student.ubc.ca
MEC Director Jr Simrin Dhillon VFMP simrind@student.ubc.ca
Year 1 MEC Exec (2025) Brendan Tao VFMP taob1@student.ubc.ca
Year 2 MEC Exec (2024)  Catherine Binda  VFMP  catbinda@student.ubc.ca
Year 3 MEC Exec (2023)  Irena Zivkovic  VFMP  irenaziv@student.ubc.ça
Year 4 MEC Exec (2022)  Athena Huynh  VFMP  athenah@student.ubc.ca
MUS VP Academic Sr  Alvin Qiu  VFMP  alvinqiu@student.ubc.ca
MUS VP Academic Jr  Ciara Morgan-Feir VFMP  cmorganf@student.ubc.ca

Faculty Committees: 

Committees are categorized here into “Learning Environment, Safety, and Student Services”, “Clinical Learning”, “Academic Learning, Assessment, and Integration”, “Transitions, Portfolio, and Interprofessional Education”, “Research and Teacher Assessment”, “Admissions”, and “COVID-19 Task Forces” for your ease of access, but some committees cover a broader range of topics and activities. See detailed descriptions of each for more information. If you’re still not sure which student rep to contact about your question or concern, please get in touch with your year’s MEC Executive. 

 

Joint Occupational Health & Safety Committee 

The JOHSCs are governed under the Workers Compensation Act. They are an advisory group consisting of employer and worker representatives working together to improve occupational health and safety in the workplace.

 

2025 Kabeer Poonia VFMP kabeer17@student.ubc.ca
2024 Maggie Hou VFMP mhou27@student.ubc.ca
2024 Navid Saleh VFMP navids97@student.ubc.ca
2023 Mohammed Abdelmalek VFMP mabdelmalek@alumni.ubc.ca
2023 Graham Landells VFMP graham.landells@alumni.ubc.ca
2023  Ricky Tsang  VFMP  ricky.tsang@alumni.ubc.ca
2023  Daniela Di Francesco  VFMP  daniela.difrancesco@alumni.ubc.ca
2022  Igor Sljivic  VFMP  igor.sljivic@alumni.ubc.ca
2022  Hanna Parmar  VFMP  hannpar@student.ubc.ca
2022 Brian Li VFMP bcmli@student.ubc.ca

Learning Environment Advisory Council 

Monitor the UGME learning environment, including mistreatment of medical students; and advise the UGME Committee, the Regional Associate Deans, the Years 1&2 Curriculum Subcommittee, and the Years 3&4 Curriculum Subcommittee accordingly. 

 

2024 Kiana Kianpoor VFMP kianaknp@student.ubc.ca
2023 Vanessa Wong  VFMP vanessawong@alumni.ubc.ca

Student Affairs Advisory Council 

The StAAC brings together the program-wide and site-specific Student Affairs leadership and the Student Affairs team (including site coordinators, financial and career advisors, health and safety representatives, Indigenous coordinators etc.) once a month to discuss ongoing business and deal with emerging issues. There are often guests from other departments to discuss how 

they and Student Affairs can best work together. This committee is responsible for the oversight of student affairs as they relate to the MDUP. It has the authority to recommend new policy or policy changes to Faculty Executive. Ensures that students at all sites have comparable and timely access to student services, including but not limited to scholarships and bursaries, health services, health and disability insurances, and career planning advice.

 

VFMP 2025 Harleen Kaur Hehar hkhehar1@student.ubc.ca
VFMP 2025 Grace Nie grace545@student.ubc.ca
VFMP 2024  Frances Perry  perryf@student.ubc.ca
VFMP 2023  Sarah Lim  sarahal9@student.ubc.ca
VFMP 2022  Sarah Fletcher  sarahf1@student.ubc.ca
VFMP 2022  Maria Zhu  maria.zhu@alumni.ubc.ca
IMP 2025 Alison White abwhite8@student.ubc.ca
IMP 2024  Jessy Sidhu  jessysid@student.ubc.ca
IMP 2023  Kash Gwiazda  kgwiazda@alumni.ubc.ca
IMP 2022  Elizabeth Burden  eburden@student.ubc.ca
SMP 2025 Evan Kwong evkwong@student.ubc.ca
SMP 2024  Emma Corbett  emma.corbett@alumni.ubc.ca
SMP 2023  Tyson Bodor tbodor@student.ubc.ca
SMP 2022  Talia Del Medico  taliajdel@student.ubc.ca
NMP 2025 Michaela Kelly mkelly2@student.ubc.ca
NMP 2024  Jeslene Sandhu  jesandhu@student.ubc.ca
NMP 2023  Allyson Miller  allyson.miller@alumni.ubc.ca
NMP 2022  Jennifer Brown  jennifer.brown1@alumni.ubc.ca

 

Student-Faculty EDI Working Group

 

Tarndeep Chahal IMP 2025 tchahal1@student.ubc.ca
Sasha Voznyuk VFMP 2025 svoznyuk@student.ubc.ca
Parsa Farah-Josteh VFMP 2024 Parsaf@student.ubc.ca
Davy Lau VFMP 2024 davylau@student.ubc.ca
Mathew Hindi VFMP 2023 hindimathew@gmail.com
Jenna Treissman NMP 2023 jennatre@student.ubc.ca
Inayah Manji VFMP 2022 inayahm@student.ubc.ca

Clinical Learning and OSCE 

eOSCE Project Team 

The eOSCE Project Team is focused on implementing the online OSCE. 

2024  Manjot Kahlon  VFMP  mjkahlon@student.ubc.ca
2022 Kevin Choi VFMP kevchoi@student.ubc.ca

Internal Medicine Undergraduate Education Committee 

This committee meets to discuss topics & concerns related to the IM undergraduate program at UBC, including 3rd year CTU rotations and 4th year IM electives. This may include assessing educational experiences, discussing current means of student evaluation, incorporating student wellness initiatives, and more.

 

2023 Marisa Levesque SMP marisalv@student.ubc.ca
2023 Sophia Gardezy IMP sgardezy@student.ubc.ca
2023 Alessandro Cau VFMP ale94@student.ubc.ca
2023 Connor Arduini NMP connora8@student.ubc.ca
2022  Reem Aziz  VFMP  raziz@alumni.ubc.ca
2022  Elizabeth Burden  IMP  eburden@student.ubc.ca
2022  Tanna Lauriente  SMP  tannal@student.ubc.ca
2022  Jordan McKenzie  NMP  jordanmckenzie@alumni.ubc.ca

UBC Medicine Family Practice 

The UBC Medicine Family Practice Committee aids the Family Practice Program in planning and developing curricular activities. Monthly meetings are usually held to discuss FP office visits and seminar activities. Student representatives deliver messages to the class and collect feedback. The committee provides a forum for members to review and address questions and updates on ongoing tasks/projects/items/issues, and discuss ways to improve the FP components of the program and students’ educational experience. 

2025 Grace Nie VFMP grace545@student.ubc.ca
2025 Ashini Dissanayake VFMP ashinid9@student.ubc.ca
2024  Brooke Cheng  VFMP bcheng1@student.ubc.ca
2024  Amolpreet Toor  VFMP Tooramol@student.ubc.ca

VFMP Clinical Skills Committee 

This committee makes decisions about format, type, and number of clinical skills sessions in years 1 and 2 at the VFMP. 

2025 Or Golan VFMP orgolan@student.ubc.ca
2024  Iman Baharmand  VFMP ibahar@student.ubc.ca
2024  Laura Jones  VFMP lauraj21@student.ubc.ca

Academic Learning, Assessment, Integration, and Integrity 

Curriculum Integration Advisory Council 

Monitor overall curricular content, sequencing, spiralling, and integration, and advise the UGME Committee, the Years 1&2 Curriculum Subcommittee, and the Years 3&4 Curriculum Subcommittee accordingly.

2024 Ronald Fung VFMP rwhfung@student.ubc.ca

Faculty Development: Clinical Decision Making 

The Clinical Decision Making (CDM) committee works on developing the CDM portion of the new MDUP curriculum, where students develop their clinical decision making skills by working through cases in CDM didactic and interactive sessions, and small groups. The committee makes decisions on the content, organization, scheduling, and implementation of these sessions and modifies the CDM curriculum based on feedback from students, instructors, and other involved staff. This committee works on improving the quality of lecture-based education within the UBC medical curriculum. 

2022  Jasmyne Kassam  VFMP  jasmyne.kassam@alumni.ubc.ca
2022  Shiny Sachdeva  VFMP  shiny.sachdeva@alumni.ubc.ca
2023  Anastasia Kalyta  VFMP   anastasia.kalyta@alumni.ubc.ca
2023  Shailee Siddhpuria  VFMP  Shailee.siddhpuria@alumni.ubc.ca
2024  Jasper Yoo VFMP  Jgyoo@student.ubc.ca
2024  Vicky Mai  VFMP  vickymai@student.ubc.ca
2025 Aryan Ghaffarizadeh VFMP sghaff01@student.ubc.ca

MCQ Advisory Panel 

The Multiple Choice Question Advisory Panel reviews questions and content of MCQ exams. 

Student rep  Raisa Shabbir  VFMP 2023  raisashabbir@alumni.ubc.ca
LGBTQ+ student rep Jatinder Khatra VFMP 2023  jay.khatra@alumni.ubc.ca

Pediatric Undergraduate Education Committee 

The goal of this committee is to ensure that effective undergraduate pediatric education and assessment is being delivered to all sites and students across British Columbia. It is responsible for planning, implementing and evaluating all the pediatric education curricula of the 4 years of Undergraduate education. 

2022  Allison Lui  VFMP  allison.lui@alumni.ubc.ca
2022  Hannah Kapur VFMP  hkapur20@student.ubc.ca
2022  Fernando Tharindu  VFMP  tharfern@student.ubc.ca
2023  Kelsey Smith  VFMP  klsmith@student.ubc.ca
2024 Rowan Laird SMP rlaird16@student.ubc.ca

Psychiatry Undergraduate Education Committee 

The Psychiatry UGEC is responsible for planning, implementing and evaluation of the Psychiatry curriculum across all sites.

2024 Michelle Hawkins SMP mhja@student.ubc.ca

Student Assessment Subcommittee 

This committee is responsible for the design and function of the student assessment system of the UBC MD Undergraduate Program (MDUP). 

2022 Allyssa Hooper SMP ahoope01@student.ubc.ca
2023 Julia MacDonald NMP jmacdo03@student.ubc.ca
2024  Junghoon Ko  VFMP  jko10@student.ubc.ca
2025 Zovya Wasylyk IMP zovya@student.ubc.ca

Student Promotion and Review Board 

The Review Board ensures that standards for student advancement and graduation are consistent across all sites and students, adhere to FoM policy, and are based on student performance. The Board makes decisions about student advancement, professionalism notations on performance reports, withdrawal, and returning from leaves of absence. 

2022  Caitlin Blewett  NMP  blewett@alumni.ubc.ca
2023  Kathy Xu VFMP  xukathy@student.ubc.ca

Undergraduate Medical Education Committee 

This committee oversees the UBC MD curriculum in terms of design, management, integration, and evaluation. This committee is responsible for approving UGME program initiatives from other UGME subcommittees and ensures that the program meets or exceeds accreditation standards. They also ensure that educational objectives and exit competencies are being achieved and promote a positive learning environment. 

2022 Richard Xiang  SMP  rrxiang@student.ubc.ca
2023 Robin Stone  IMP  Robin.Stone@alumni.ubc.ca
2024 Haydn Molcak NMP hmolcak@student.ubc.ca
2025 Ishmam Bhuiyan VFMP ibhuiyan@student.ubc.ca

UBC Working Group on Academic Integrity 

The Working Group on Academic Integrity focuses on ways to promote and disseminate educative approaches to academic integrity, foster culture change, and prevent/identify misconduct, in partnership with students across faculties at UBC. Online proctoring and disciplinary processes for academic misconduct are outside the scope of this group’s work. 

2023 2023 Sydney Sparanese VFMP  sydneysp@student.ubc.ca

Transitions, Portfolio, and Interprofessional Education 

Transition to Postgraduate Practice (TIPP) 

This working group is responsible for the planning and implementation of the new course at the end of Year 4. The vision is to improve the transition and preparation for our learners before they begin residency. 

2023  Sina Safabakhsh  VFMP  sinasafa@alumni.ubc.ca
2024 Austin Pietramala SMP  apietra@student.ubc.ca

Portfolio Advisory Group 

The Portfolio Advisory Group provides advice and consultation in the following areas: pedagogical matters related to the Portfolio and its alignment with sound assessment principles and other assessment modalities; practical, logistical, and political matters in relation to navigating the institutional culture to implement the Portfolio; end-user experience from both a student and coach perspective; identification of opportunities for scholarship; identification of content experts who can contribute to the development and implementation of the Portfolio. 

2022  Emma Louise Croft  VFMP  ecroft@alumni.ubc.ca
2022  Supun Kotteduwa Jayawarden  VFMP  supun@student.ubc.ca
2023  Katherine Baillie  VFMP  k.baillie@alumni.ubc.ca
2024  Eden Dubchak  SMP  dubchak@student.ubc.ca
2024  Alissa Zhang  VFMP  awzhang@student.ubc.ca
2025 Alison White IMP abwhite8@student.ubc.ca

UBC Health Student Caucus

The Health Student Caucus provides a forum for health and human service (HHS) student leaders to discuss common education issues, provide feedback on the development, implementation and evaluation of interprofessional learning opportunities, plan interprofessional student events, and contribute to the advancement of Interprofessional Education (IPE) at UBC. 

2022  Nafeel Ahmed  VFMP  snahmed@student.ubc.ca
2023  Sarah Lim  VFMP  sarahal9@student.ubc.ca
2025 Parsa Farah-Josteh VFMP parsaf@student.ubc.ca

Research and Teacher Assessment 

Research Committee 

The Research Committee has various responsibilities falling under the overarching goal to fulfill the FoM’s research directives. This includes deciding which faculty members win certain awards, which projects get UBC funding, and how to achieve other research directives. 

2023 – MD/PhD Shayda Swann VFMP  sswann19@student.ubc.ca

Learner Access Advisory Council 

This council will advise the Associate Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education on access to UBC MD undergraduate students for the purposes of recruitment into research and non-programmatic studies. The mandate of the LAAC includes reviewing received requests and recommending which to forward to MD student learners (see attached Terms of Reference). The LAAC supports the Faculty of Medicine’s commitment to advancing research and scholarship as part of its mission, while at the same time ensuring that our learners are not overly burdened by non-programmatic emails and requests. 

2024  Jasper Yoo VFMP  jgyoo@student.ubc.ca

Teacher Support Advisory Council 

The purpose of this advisory council is to advise the Director of Teacher Assessment on matters related to support and assessment of teachers, including the implementation of the Teacher Assessment Policy. The student representative’s role is to provide the student’s perspective and ideas for how to better provide teacher assessments through one45 and to highlight any potential gaps in the current process for the learner, as well as how to best use this information to improve the medical education we receive.

2024  Micheline Metzner  VFMP mmetz@student.ubc.ca
2022 Sofía Zhang Jiang IMP sofiazj@student.ubc.ca

Admissions 

MD Admissions Subcommittee 

Consider and select applicants for interview, offer, and ultimately admission to the MD Undergraduate Program, in accordance with UBC and Faculty of Medicine admissions policies and the Faculty of Medicine’s social responsibility mandate. The MD Admissions Selection Subcommittee is a collection of individuals with vested interests in the equitable and diverse selection of future UBC medical student cohorts. This team collaborates to manage the process of MD Admissions following submission of applications in a particular matriculation cycle. 

2023 Remi Kandal  SMP remikandal@alumni.ubc.ca
2024 Ashleigh Nazareth VFMP ashnaz@student.ubc.ca

Northern and Rural MD Admissions Subcommittee 

This committee recommends to the MD Admissions Subcommittee qualified applicants who are suitable for the local context of learning in northern and rural areas for interview and offer of admission to the MD Program, up to a maximum of 32 for the NMP, 10 for rural placements in the SMP, and 2 for rural placements in the IMP, in accordance with UBC and Faculty of Medicine admissions policies and the Faculty of Medicine’s social responsibility mandate. 

 

2023 Erin Slade  NMP eslade0@student.ubc.ca
2024 Megan Karpenko NMP mkarpenk@student.ubc.ca
2023 Valerie Doyon IMP valdoyon@student.ubc.ca
2023 Aashka Jani SMP aajani@student.ubc.ca

MD Admissions Diversity Task Force 

The Task Force informs the MD Admissions Committee of barriers preventing successful admission to medical school, which may be related to ethnicity, sexual orientation, socio-economic background, or other factors. The Task Force works with the Admissions Committee to help address these barriers.

 

2024 Lisa Renaud  SMP  lrenaud@student.ubc.ca
2023 Gbolahan Olarewaju  VFMP golarewaju@alumni.ubc.ca
2022 Allison Jussila  IMP  a.jussila@alumni.ubc.ca
2023 Aria Jazdarehee  VFMP aria.jaz@alumni.ubc.ca
2022 Jari Ullah  VFMP j.ullah@alumni.ubc.ca
2022 Mark Cornett  SMP  mark.cornett@alumni.ubc.ca

Last updated: January 2022